In Memoriam: Remembering the Fallen…

Several months ago, I came up with an project idea that I hoped would make people stop and think about what life must have been like during World War One. In Memoriam uses objects which belonged to soilders fighting for King and Counrty during The Great War. Handling some of the items at the DLI was a great honour. While holding the items I couldn’t help but think about the people who owned the items and wonder if they made it through the war.

Several of the items used in the exhibition belonged to my Great Grandad who served in the Royal Navy. When I look at the exhibition, I feel extrememly proud of what he and many other like him risked for us.

The following is from the poem For The Fallen by Robert Laurence Binyon:

“They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old:
Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun and in the morning
We will remember them.”
In Memoriam can be seen in the Tyneside Coffee Rooms until March 2015.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment