Marsden Bay

I have been to Marsden Bay many times – I remember that when I was younger, my mam and I used to sit in the Marsden Grotto pub to watch the earlier stages of the Great North Run on television before walking down to the finish to wait for my dad coming in.

There is so much to see at Marsden Bay – the main attraction being Marsden Rock.

Marsden Rock is a rock formation owned by the National Trust and is reachable on foot during low tide but becomes cut off at high tide.

In 1911, a large section of Marsden Rock collapsed into the sea leaving an archway. In 1996, continued tidal erosion caused the arch to collapse splitting the rock into two seperate stacks. A year later, the smaller stack was found to be unsafe and demolished in the interests of public safety.

I found Marsden Rock to be a very photogenic area with some macro shots of the effects of errosion and wider shots of the rock itself. As usual, the photographs can be seen below.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment